Mma Ramotswe – Or an Unusual Detective

Why Mma Ramotswe stands out among other fictitious detectives.

Mma Ramotswe! That lady with all her positivity and intellect and wit! And oh, her big mug of bush tea! She is unlike any female protagonist I have ever read- no, she is unlike any protagonist I have ever read, and I love her to bits!
media-20180123 (2)
I would categorize this as the story of a detective than a detective story. There are no big mysteries in it which would have you bite your nails or pull out your hair, but Mma Ramotswe has an abundance of human intuition and intelligence which she uses in an enchanting manner to solve the problems of the people who consult her – and there isn’t a single moment that isn’t lit!
media-20180123
But more than all that, Alexander McCall Smith has given me something else through this book – Africa. This is my first book (that I can remember) set in Africa – Botswana to be precise – and what a lovely picture the author has painted for me! The lovely people, the lush green meadows where the cattle graze, the Kalahari – Botswana is now on the list of places I wanna go to some day ❤️❤️❤️

Leave a comment